top of page
Search

5 Of The Best Journaling ideas



If I’m being totally honest, I’m still trying to get into journaling...I love the idea of it but the reality is I’ll start journaling and then forget about it for weeks or I just get bored and give up. I realised, as usual I was putting way too many rules and pressure on myself. You don’t need to journal religiously; it can just be something you dip in and out of as and when it suits. So below I’ve given you 5 different journaling ideas to get you started:

  1. Inspirational quotes

Journaling does not always have to involve pages and pages of writing it can simply just be a collection of pictures or in this case quotes. I love collecting quotes, but have never thought to put them in a book I usually keep them on my phone and then when I lose or break my phone, I end up losing all of these lovely quotes as well. Collecting quotes in a book can be a great hobby and can also act as a little pick me up for when you are feeling low. Depending on how good your artistic skills are you could even do this as a gift for someone!

  1. Events


Journaling can also be similar to keeping a diary, but instead of writing about your high school crush you can document meaningful events, these can range from going to concerts to having a baby. This can be a brilliant way of capturing these memories so you and even your children and grandchildren can read through them again and again. Some people can find event journaling useful to work through difficult and traumatic events such as abuse or a relationship breakdown.

  1. Gratitude journaling

This is probably one of the most common forms of journaling, this can really help with anxiety and depression, it is said to increase your positivity, help you sleep better and can improve self-esteem. You can buy some fab gratitude journals on Etsy!

  1. Worries

I got this idea from Stacey Solomon who will often draw a wheelie bin on a piece of paper and then write all of the things that are on her mind that might be worrying her or just little niggles she can’t stop thinking about. I personally love writing to-do lists when my brain feels really full. I use to work as a children and family social worker and an activity I would often do with children is draw butterflies and get them to write their worries inside and imagine the butterflies floating away with their worries.


  1. Travel journal

This by far sounds like the coolest kind of journaling, but with 2 children under the age of four, I don’t think I'll be travelling any time soon haha. But I guess this is the joy of journaling, you can make up your own rules. Travel journaling doesn’t just have to apply to scuba diving in Fiji, it can include trips to the cinema, staycations or even just road trips to the zoo!

Want to make a start on journaling? Check out my journal starter kits on my Instagram. Hope this has been helpful, good luck with your journaling!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page